alto saxophone, bass clarinets, composition

Spinifex tour in Poland, Lithuania, Estonia and Russia

Spinifex on tour again in Eastern Europe, december 2014

7 december Bajkonur, Łódź (PL)
8 december Pardon To Tu, Warsaw (PL)
9 december XI20, Vilnius (LT)
10 december Philly Joe’s, Tallinn (EE)
12 december ESG-21, St Petersburg (RU)
13 december DOM, Moscow (RU)
14 december Muzenergo Festival, Dubna (RU)


In 2014, Spinifex presented the project BOLLYCORE featuring Priya Purushothaman, one of India's most talented young vocalists, and virtuoso dancer Maya Sapera. In february we rehearsed and toured in India. In april we performed as part of the MOOOV Festival at De Werf in Brugge and at Mediawave in Hungary. There were more concerts in september/october:
16 february isai Festival, Chennai (India)
21 february High Spirits, Pune (India)
22 february Goethe Institut, Bangalore (India)
22 february CounterCulture, Bangalore (India) 22h
16 april MOOOV Festival, De Werf, België
1 may Mediawave, Komarom (Hungary)
30 august, Amsterdam Uitmarkt (Concertgebouw Koorzaal)
24 september MLK Martin Luther Kerk, Amsterdam
25 september De Pletterij, Haarlem
26 september De Doelen (Jazz International Rotterdam), Rotterdam
28 september Ruigoord
30 september Musis Sacrum, Arnhem

fantastic reviews for Spinifex CD Hipsters Gone Ballistic

The new Spinifex CD Hipsters Gone Ballistic was released on december 2nd 2013. It is available at TryTone and CDBaby and i-Tunes
We presented the cd at the Bimhuis, Amsterdam, on 23 january 2014. Hipsters Gone Ballistic was recorded by Maarten Tap at Jottem! and mixed/mastered by Jason LaFarge at Seizures Palace. Artwork and graphic design by Gonçalo Almeida.

Hipsters Gone Ballistichas been receiving fantastic reviews. Among others:
Eyal Hareuveni, allaboutjazz, february 2014:”All selections are played with sheer abandon and joyful passion, from the first second to the last one. All compositions feature restless shifts and complex dynamics as well as the highly collaborative and versatile interplay of this well-rehearsed quintet… no doubt, the hipsters went on a wild ride.”
Tom Greenland, The NYC Jazz Record, june2014: “Hipsters Gone Ballistic opens with a driving additive rhythm in nine beats, which manages, for all its prickly accents, to instill a punk-rock vibe, something that might drive less-inhibited jazz fans to mosh.
Jan Willem Broek in Caleidoscoop, december 2013: “There is no telling what will happen and that makes the music so attractive. The energy is almost tangible and it’s bursting with the joy of performing … simply sensational!”
Monsieur Délire, Monsieur Délire: "Looking for a record that hits hard and never where you expect it? Bam! Hipsters Gone Ballistic is a neverending flurry of pops to the jaw. Ultratight tunes borrowing from jazzpunk and avant-prog. With guitarist Jasper Stadhouders (also in Lilyʼs Déjà Vu), Gonçalo Almeida on bass, drummer Philipp Moser, and most of all the dual frontline of Gijs Levelt (trumpet) and Tobias Klein (alto sax). Recommended."
Helen Moors, moorsmagazine january 2014: ” Spinifex and their new album Hipsters Gone Ballistic guarantees an unprecedented adrenaline rush … they go right at it with crackling energy, unexpected turns, super tight arrangements and, within those, strangely free improvisations which constantly keep the listener in suspense … fantastic!”
Herman te Loo in Jazzflits, december 2013: “The most striking characteristic is the pounding staccato rhythm … you might blame the band for a lack of subtleness, but that’s definitely not the case. The dynamic spectrum of Spinifex is big, and so is their bag of musical ideas.”

A short compilation:


I've recently been teaming up with Gonçalo Almeida on double bass and drummer Martin Duynhoven.
Best to watch in HD setting:

Basklarinet Festijn april 2014

Fie Schouten and I have organised a festival celebrating bassclarinetism in general and, in particular, bass clarinet virtuoso Harry Sparnaay's 70th birthday, also marking the date he chose to end his career as performing musician. Throughout his career, Sparnaay gave an enormous impulse to contemporary music in the Netherlands and worldwide. More than 500 compositions have been written for him by composers like Luciano Berio, Morton Feldman, Iannis Xenakis en Isang Yun.
With fantastic players: Ernesto Molinari, Claudio Puntin, Steffen Schorn, Jelte Althuis, Fie Schouten, Ainhoa Miranda, Oguz Büyükberber, Laura Carmichael and Tobias Klein. We have performed, next to many other pieces, my new composition 'Too Dark To Read' for bass clarinet tentet.
10 april Grand Theatre, Groningen
11 april Bimhuis, Amsterdam
13 april Toonzaal, Den Bosch